top of page
  • andreahywong

Hardware Upgrade

It’s been so long! I’ve been thinking of #upgrading my hardware so it’s man easier set up. Some sort of #arm to simplify my tripod+clamp+wooden-plank set up.


Arm

I found this microphone boom scissor arm for ~$20 that looks like just what I need! From the reviews, it seems the end clamp fails over time but seems like a cheap temporary solution! It definitely wouldn’t be the first time I used a microphone stand.


I only need it to support the webcam and the light source, and be able to reach 80cm above the surface. This arm is 78cm which is close enough for me. The Adjustable Clamp Maximum Width is 5.5 cm which is more than enough for my table’s 2.0 cm thickness.

I’ll have to find a new way to attach my webcam to the end of the microphone end. But I think this should be easy enough to find. We shall see!




There definitely seem to be many available with a spring bracket for mobile devices on AliExpress:


This last one is even 3-parts with an extension which might be useful to reach the centre of the surface as it’d clamp from the outer side. Very neat!


Lighting

I’ve also been revisiting previous lighting options as my current desk lamp isn’t quite powerful enough at the edges anymore. I’m also beginning to want something cordless as it’s being messy to handle cables with limited lengths, although battery life would be important to consider. Something like this looks promising! it seems light enough in weight to be supported by the arm mentioned above. Attachment would be something to consider though. I wonder if I can attach something similar to a selfie-stick’s springy grab on phones. Something like this bracket could hold both the lighting source and camera!


Similar lighting options:

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page